Skip to main content

Deciding What to Read Next…

Deciding what to read next is something like deciding what to eat next. Will it be homemade soup and saltines, a full spread to include the kitchen sink, or simply leftovers?

The thing is, I just finished reading Pearl Cleage’s ‘What Looks Like Crazy on an Ordinary Day,’ and Erma Bombeck’s ‘At Wit’s End’… (my thoughts here and here). Both books were good. Actually it's kind of funny how I literally tripped over Bombeck's book after it must've fallen from my bookcase. Talk about a book talking; I guess nudging me in its own way to be read. None-the-less both books are certainly worth recommending to anyone who hasn’t read in a while and not in a mood for extra drama. These books are what I call glucose controllers. They won’t mess with your blood pressure, not that I’m looking for mines to be messed with, but I am over here wringing my hands looking forward to opening ‘that’ book!

Honestly, I fear what might be behind the cover, ‘Pain Don’t Hurt’ by Mark ‘FightShark Miller’. Usually this has proved to be a good thing. Life on the Color Line, Smartest Guys in the Room, and All Souls were books that initially grabbed me this way ...before cracking them open.

I did, however, crack open ‘Threesome,’ a novel by Brenda L. Thomas, and closed it right away. I love watching Colombo, except my current mood has little oomph to play detective trying to figure how who, when, where, why and what about familiar folks and topics.

At the moment I don’t feel like guessing about nothing, which is why… psst… I AM IN LOVE with Gandhi’s autobiography… well at least the part I started reading. It’s a big book though. It’s sooooooo long, the reason I put it aside. Books like this I prefer to really take my time sitting with.

It’s kind of the same feeling I’m getting from Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov, another book I peeked into. Though it's not terribly long, gosh... I love old-school lit like this...memorish reading content written in them long winding sentences, making me feel like I'm pulling on my first Easter dress.

Needless to bring up; drumming on about how high my to-read stack is stacked, and how many other books have me wringing my hands vexed about what to read next, because lo and behold…this isn’t all.

I just received another bundle of books and ‘My Life, My Love, My Legacy’ by Coretta Scott King is among the bundle!

This was a fun post to write because now even I’m looking forward to my ultimate thoughts on every one of these books mentioned in this post.

Happy Reading.


Popular posts from this blog

Genuine Women Rock!

Funny thing about genuine women is they rarely say much when first meeting one. Oh, she’ll look me up and down, sizing me up I’m guessing, taking in most of what she thinks she sees before ever imparting any real piece of her mind. Gossip is just not her thing; mines neither, which is why when she unleashes one of them pearls of wisdom, Baby Look Out, I know this is a Woman Who Rocks!
Genuine Women are as Compassionate as Passionate

Doesn’t mean she won’t make mistakes, do wrong, be wrong, get mad and have those bad days. We all have our hard days, ugly ways. Name a human who doesn't. And still, turning the dial back upbeat, I know one-hundred-ten percent a genuine woman’s words are not cheap.

50 Keepsake Female Perspectives... Memoirs about Women by Women. 
1.A Sick Life by Tionne "T-Boz" Watkins
2.Around the Way Girl by Taraji P. Henson
3.At Wit's End by Erma Bombeck
4.Chinese Cinderella by Adeline Yen Mah
5.Desperate to be a Housewife by Meg Bortin
6.Diary of a Bev…

A Toast to the Writing Resolution Blog Hop Ball

I've been waiting to attend this ball all year, and now here it is…the perfect spot to slip in another Top Ten list, and call it my writing resolutions.
Before …oh boy…I get started, please know that Meg Waite-Clayton at 1stbooks is hosting the blogger ball. All the rules can be found (and followed) by clicking the icon pic in my caption, which also should be your caption as well. But before you get to clicking, here are my writing resolutions going into the New Year.

SHEWRITES Blogger's Ball #7 – YipYip HOORaY!!!

I think Meg Waite Clayton, who takes time out of her very literate busy schedule to host this ball, must really see me over here toggling this and that. Seems like it never fails, just when I'm about to drop a ball, up pops Meg hosting a ball. Of course, and please know, I don't really believe this. I already know the blogger balls come highly requested by SHEWRITERS, but can't deny that I, too, love the timing of each one thrown.
With over $#!$# projects going, not inclusive of other dependabilities begging my attention, I tried to avoid putting up the old 'Away on Vacation' notice. And rather than explain any more of that here, let me jump right into blasting this small pep of encouragement for those steeped in the writing process, and to writers everywhere.
If you're starting to hear a little whining about the time you spend writing, and blogging, to this is what I have to say. "Write on Writers." To my family, and perhaps to those who've been…