Skip to main content

Deciding What to Read Next…

Deciding what to read next is something like deciding what to eat next. Will it be homemade soup and saltines, a full spread to include the kitchen sink, or simply leftovers?

The thing is, I just finished reading Pearl Cleage’s ‘What Looks Like Crazy on an Ordinary Day,’ and Erma Bombeck’s ‘At Wit’s End’… (my thoughts here and here). Both books were good. Actually it's kind of funny how I literally tripped over Bombeck's book after it must've fallen from my bookcase. Talk about a book talking; I guess nudging me in its own way to be read. None-the-less both books are certainly worth recommending to anyone who hasn’t read in a while and not in a mood for extra drama. These books are what I call glucose controllers. They won’t mess with your blood pressure, not that I’m looking for mines to be messed with, but I am over here wringing my hands looking forward to opening ‘that’ book!

Honestly, I fear what might be behind the cover, ‘Pain Don’t Hurt’ by Mark ‘FightShark Miller’. Usually this has proved to be a good thing. Life on the Color Line, Smartest Guys in the Room, and All Souls were books that initially grabbed me this way ...before cracking them open.

I did, however, crack open ‘Threesome,’ a novel by Brenda L. Thomas, and closed it right away. I love watching Colombo, except my current mood has little oomph to play detective trying to figure how who, when, where, why and what about familiar folks and topics.

At the moment I don’t feel like guessing about nothing, which is why… psst… I AM IN LOVE with Gandhi’s autobiography… well at least the part I started reading. It’s a big book though. It’s sooooooo long, the reason I put it aside. Books like this I prefer to really take my time sitting with.

It’s kind of the same feeling I’m getting from Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov, another book I peeked into. Though it's not terribly long, gosh... I love old-school lit like this...memorish reading content written in them long winding sentences, making me feel like I'm pulling on my first Easter dress.

Needless to bring up; drumming on about how high my to-read stack is stacked, and how many other books have me wringing my hands vexed about what to read next, because lo and behold…this isn’t all.

I just received another bundle of books and ‘My Life, My Love, My Legacy’ by Coretta Scott King is among the bundle!

This was a fun post to write because now even I’m looking forward to my ultimate thoughts on every one of these books mentioned in this post.

Happy Reading.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

It’s Official! RYCJs Top 10 Favorite Books ...read in 2017

For those who will desire to miss it, (my You Tube video sharing what books enhanced my mood this year), I took time to spell out the list.

In no particular order:

- Yes, Chef by Marcus Samuelsson
- Pain Don’t Hurt by Mark ‘Fightshark’ Miller
- Love in the Driest Season by Neely Tucker
- Tha Doggfather by Snoop Dogg
- My Life, My Love, My Legacy by Coretta Scott King
- My Mistake by Daniel Menaker
- When I Was Puerto Rican by Esmeralda Santiago
- I Choose to Stay by Salome Thomas-EL
- The Journey Home by Clifton Taulbert
- Cold Hard Truth On Men, Women, and Money by Kevin O'Leary

Thank you, Authors. I HIGHLY recommend reading from this list. I've read many phenomenal books this year, and these rose to the top. Every one of the memoirs, not all written in 2017, kick-started my mood, were humorous in spots, touched me to the core, and in my estimation... promises to grow a Smart, Engaged, Literate Society.

M E R R Y  🎄  C H R I S T M A S

Everyone Has a Story...

...the key is...How will you tell your story? And can you tell it well?

Just finished reading Pain Don’t Hurt by Mark ‘Fightshark’ Miller. (Thoughts here.)

How to Find Books Hard to Put Down?

Tiz’ the season, and joyously I’m starting to get in the Christmassy spirit.

I can’t count the number of reading advocates springing up everywhere posting reading and writing inspiration I respect. One of my favorites are reading lists presented in categories; 100 Books that will have your brows glued to the ceiling, or 100 Books that will have you crying the ugly face… or laughing your B-Hind off, or that other other one, among 101 plenty of others… 100 Books You Should Read Before You Die.